SARRI

Introductory Webinar | SARRI Expert Webinar Series

Tuesday, July 12, 2022

Introductory Webinar | SARRI Expert Webinar Series

The first of the expert webinars will be held on the 27th July, 2022. The founding partners will provide an overview of the shark and ray crisis, SARRI and the toolbox, and what to expect in the coming months and years.

Attendees will get a flavour of what SARRI has to offer to marine management authorities and shark conservation practitioners, and potential collaboration opportunities, and to ask questions on key aspects of the Initiative.

Please join SARRI's founders on Zoom to learn more on the 27th July at 11 am GMT (9 pm Port Moresby, 6 pm Jakarta, 3 pm Dubai, 1 pm Rome, 8 am São Paulo). The webinar will last roughly 75 mins. 

Speakers:

  • Andy Cornish -  Leader of Sharks: Restoring the Balance, WWF
  • Dr. Rima Jabado – Founder of Elasmo Project and Chair of the IUCN SSC Shark Specialist Group
  • Prof. Colin Simpfendorfer - Adjunct Professor, James Cook University
  • Luke Warwick - Director of Shark and Ray Conservation, Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS)

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Missed this webinar or want to watch it again?

Webinar recording is now available to users registered through our SARRI website. To access the Webinar Library to watch this and any future webinar recordings, remember to register for the SARRI Toolkit first. If you are already registered, simply login and head to the SARRI Webinar Library page.

Related News

Preventing Shark and Ray Extinctions is Not Enough
Blogs & Opinions

Preventing Shark and Ray Extinctions is Not Enough

Friday, August 12, 2022

Preventing extinctions has been a primary aim of shark and ray conservation for decades, but the numbers don’t lie. These efforts haven’t kept pace with the threats. We all need to raise our level of ambition if we want to reverse the tragic loss of biodiversity in our ocean. More efforts are needed to actively recover depleted populations for the benefit of our ocean and people who depend on it.

Recovery in the heart of the Sulu Seas
Stories

Recovery in the heart of the Sulu Seas

Kee Foong

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Three decades of conservation efforts at a remote coral reef complex in the Philippines have paid off. Today it is one of the most important areas for sharks in the Coral Triangle and supports the highest density of whitetip reef sharks in the world.

Return of a rare toothy ray in Florida
Stories

Return of a rare toothy ray in Florida

Magda Nieduzak

Thursday, May 19, 2022

A very rare and curious-looking ray called the smalltooth sawfish inhabits the waters of Florida in the US. Once on the verge of extinction, the animal is now making a comeback thanks to the dedication of scientists, experts, authorities, and the community. This story brings a ray of hope for other endangered rays and sharks around the world.

SARRI

SARRI is the latest response to save some of the most threatened sharks and rays from extinction.

© 2022 SARRI
All rights reserved.