SARRI

Second webinar from the SARRI Expert Webinar Series coming up!

Monday, October 10, 2022

Second webinar from the SARRI Expert Webinar Series coming up!
© Dr. Hollie Booth

The second webinar from our SARRI Expert Webinar series is coming up on 25 October. The session will focus on interdisciplinary approaches for understanding and managing shark and ray fisheries and will be led by Dr. Hollie Booth (University of Oxford; Human Dimensions Working Group, IUCN SSC Shark Specialist Group). Dr. Booth will present methods and findings of her PhD research, which can help to devise management strategies for reducing the mortality of endangered sharks and rays as part of a recovery plan, whilst also considering the income and well-being of coastal communities.

Please join us on Zoom to learn more on Tuesday, 25th October at 8.00am GMT (4am Sao Paulo, 9am Rome, 11am Dubai, 2pm Jakarta, 3pm Hong Kong, 5pm Port Moresby). The webinar will last roughly an hour.

Speaker:

  • Dr. Hollie Booth - Research Associate at ICCS, University of Oxford; Co-Chair of Human Dimensions Working Group, IUCN SSC Shark Specialist Group; and Nature Positive Senior Specialist, The Biodiversity Consultancy

Webinar Summary:

Dr. Booth has over 6 years of experience working on shark and ray conservation in Indonesia and the Southeast Asia Archipelago, and recently completed her DPhil at the University of Oxford on ‘Interdisciplinary Approaches to Shark & Ray Conservation’, with a particular focus on small-scale fisheries in Indonesia. She will be presenting on her methods and findings, which can help to devise management strategies for reducing mortality of endangered sharks and rays, whilst also considering the income and well-being of coastal communities. Prior to working in Indonesia, Dr. Booth worked on protected area management and community-based tourism in East Africa, and environmental policy in Cambridge, UK. She also holds an MSc in Conservation Science from Imperial College London, and a BA in Natural Sciences and Management Studies from University of Cambridge.


How to register for this webinar?

Remember that our SARRI Expert Webinar Series is available to all experts and practitioners who have registered for the SARRI Toolkit.

Are you registered for the SARRI Toolkit already? Login to your expert account using the below button and then head to the Webinar Library page to sign up for the webinar.

Related News

Introductory Webinar | SARRI Expert Webinar Series
Events

Introductory Webinar | SARRI Expert Webinar Series

Tuesday, July 12, 2022

The first of the expert webinars will be held on the 27th July, 2022. The founding partners will provide an overview of the shark and ray crisis, SARRI and the toolbox, and what to expect in the coming months and years.

Preventing Shark and Ray Extinctions is Not Enough
Blogs & Opinions

Preventing Shark and Ray Extinctions is Not Enough

Friday, August 12, 2022

Preventing extinctions has been a primary aim of shark and ray conservation for decades, but the numbers don’t lie. These efforts haven’t kept pace with the threats. We all need to raise our level of ambition if we want to reverse the tragic loss of biodiversity in our ocean. More efforts are needed to actively recover depleted populations for the benefit of our ocean and people who depend on it.

SARRI

SARRI is the latest response to save some of the most threatened sharks and rays from extinction.

© 2022 SARRI
All rights reserved.
Website by Roojai